Sherwood Park's first fire hall was built in 1959. Almost a decade later, in 1967, an RCMP detachment was added to the facility. The two community services shared the building until 1975 when the fire hall moved to its current location on Sherwood Drive.
Their relocation left the building vacant until 1995 when Strathcona County graciously provided it to The Strathcona County Heritage Foundation to found a Museum & Archives to showcase the County's rich history. Many unique architectural features from the building's past remain and are highlighting in several of our exhibits.
The Strathcona County Heritage Foundation was established in 1986 with the vision to gather and preserve the vibrant cultures, stories and community developments of the Strathcona County area.
We continue to strive to reflect the diverse peoples and families that have called the County home, including the Indigenous peoples of Treaty 6.